The Dank Announce Release Date For Debut Album

Posted by on Nov 21, 2017


LOS ANGELES, CA – The Los Angeles-based Tex-Mex, Rock ‘N’ Roll band The Dank is set to release their debut, self-titled album on December 1, 2017. Produced by Eugene Toale (recent credits include albums with Las Cafeteras, Buyepongo, Viento Callejero, Sin Color, and Nancy Sanchez), the nine song album was recorded between 2016 and 2017 at Bedrock Studios in the Echo Park neighborhood of Los Angeles, CA and draws musical influences from a variety of North American and Latin American genres including blues, country, cumbia, norteño, punk, rock ‘n’ roll, and salsa. Led by Texans David Monnich (Bass, Guitar, Vocals) and Jimi Morales (Keyboards, Vocals), The Dank has been steadily building a cult following around the pacific coast of the United States and Mexico since its founding in 2014 by performing at a diversity of community events, music festivals, and nightclubs.

The Dank’s newest release is the result of David Monnich and Jimi Morales’ experiences living and traveling in the southwestern and pacific coast regions of the United States as well as Mexico over the past five years. The songs tell stories of communal feasts, homelessness, homesickness, narcotraficantes, treachery, and Texas rangers. The album’s first single, “Texas,” mixes gypsy punk with cumbia and salsa influences and is about the feeling of missing one’s homeland. “Guadalajara”, the album’s second single, fuses psychedelic blues-rock with a bolero rhythm and tells the story of the band’s ill-fated trip to Guadalajara, Mexico in the summer of 2014. The Dank also kicks off with a Spanish language single, “Lupita”, which takes on a Mexican corrido song form and also includes honky tonk musical flavors.

For their debut album, The Dank enlisted a group of well-established, Los Angeles-based guest artists. These include Daniel French, Hector Flores, and Leah Gallegos of Las Cafeteras; singer-songwriter Nancy Sanchez; David Aquino and Crisia Regalado of Sin Color; Larry Harvey of Buyepongo; Elliott Baribeault of Bolillo y Su Conjunto; saxophonist & clarinetist Greg Marino; saxophonist Max Kim; sitarist Evan Hatfield; keyboardist Isai Hirales; percussionists Dan Ogrodnik and Jose Santana; violinist Manoela Wunder; and guitarists Oliver Jenkins and Joe Montoya. Producer Eugene Toale also performs saxophone and melodica on the album.

Since releasing the 420 Special EP on April 20, 2015, The Dank has performed throughout California and Baja California (Mexico), including stops at Lightning In A Bottle Festival (Bradley, CA), Desertica Festival (Mexicali, MX), Día De Muertos Festival (Mexicali, MX), Fiestas Patrias (Los Angeles), and Fiesta Broadway (Los Angeles). In September 2015, the band was honored by Los Angeles city council member Jose Huizar for their contributions and commitment to the culture of Los Angeles.

The Dank will be available in CD format as well as on all digital platforms, including Spotify, iTunes, YouTube, Amazon Music, Apple Music, Google Play, Rhapsody, Soundcloud, and Bandcamp.

To follow The Dank
Facebook: www.facebook.com/thedankband
Twitter: www.twitter.com/thedankband
Instagram: @thedankband